Term Dates 2019 – 2020

Term Dates 2019 -2020

Autumn Term 2019 (2nd September – 20th December)

Monday 2nd September – INSET day – school closed for ALL children

Tuesday 3rd September – INSET day – school closed for ALL children

Wednesday 4th September – Start of Autumn Term for ALL children

Friday 25th October – INSET day – school closed for ALL children

Monday 28th October – Friday 1st November – Half Term holiday for term time children – Holiday play scheme available

Friday 20th December – Last day of Autumn Term

Monday 23rd December – Tuesday 24th December – Christmas Holiday for term time children – Holiday play scheme available

Wednesday 25th December – Friday 3rd January – School closed for ALL children

Spring Term 2020 (6th January – 3rd April)

Monday 6th January – INSET day – school closed for ALL children

Tuesday 7th January – Start of Spring Term for ALL children

Monday 17th February – Friday 21st February – Half Term holiday for term time children – Holiday play scheme available

Friday 3rd April – Last day of Spring Term

Monday 6th April – Thursday 9th April – Easter Holiday for term time children – Holiday play scheme available

Tuesday 14th April – Friday 17th April – Easter Holiday for term time children – Holiday play scheme available

Summer Term 2020 (20th April – 20th July)

Monday 20th April – Start of Summer Term

Thursday 7th May – INSET day – School closed for ALL children

Friday 8th May – Bank Holiday – School closed for ALL children

Monday 25th May – Bank Holiday – School closed for ALL children

Tuesday 26th May – Friday 29th May – Half Term holiday for term time children – Holiday play scheme available

Monday 20th July – End of Summer Term

Tuesday 21st July – Friday 21st August – Summer Holiday for term time children – Holiday play scheme available

Monday 24th August – Monday 31st August – School closed for ALL Children

 

Latest Ofsted Inspection Report 2018

Dear Mums, Dads and Carers,

I am delighted to be able to share with you the outcome of our recent Ofsted Inspection (please see link below for the full report).

Our Nursery School continues to be Outstanding. This is testament to the on-going care, commitment and skill that the staff team bring to support our young children in their early education.

Many thanks to those of you who took the time to complete the Ofsted survey or speak to the inspector in person. It is great to hear how highly you speak of the nursery.

While we are of course delighted to receive this recognition, we are also aware that we can be even better. We will continue to reflect on our practice and work as a team to develop the quality of experience we offer to the young children in our care. Your feedback can help us on this journey- please speak to your child’s Keyworker or email me at head@brns.org if you have any questions, comments or concerns.

In the meantime we are getting into the Christmas spirit in nursery, I hope to see you for some festive singing next week.

Best wishes,

Joe Knutson

Certified Training Centre of Excellence

You will know from sharing your children’s learning records with your child’s key workers that we regularly scribe children’s stories and act them out as part of our Helicopter Story approach. In the Autumn term we applied to Make Believe Arts to become a Centre of Excellence to enable us to train other teachers and practitioners. Last term Alison Stead and Cathryn Twine underwent 2 days training with Make Believe Arts.

We are delighted to say that on Tuesday 12th June we held our first training day and delegates were able to see some of the children tell and act out their stories. We were so proud of the children who were very confident in showing what they can do, and we were pleased to receive our plaque from Isla Hill of Make Believe Arts. (http://www.makebelievearts.co.uk)

We are now a Certified Training Centre of Excellence for Helicopter Stories so would like to thank you all for your support in this initiative.

Nursery spaces available

There are spaces available at our Nursery School.  If interested in applying for a place for your child, please contact the school to arrange a visit. Application forms can be downloaded from the Nursery School admission page, or you can collect one from the school office (8am-4pm).